I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2009 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 33 (COR)

Introduced by:

Judith P. Guthertz, DPA

T. R. Muña Barnes

R. J. Respicio

B. J.F. Cruz

T. C. Ada

F. B. Aguon, Jr.

F. F. Blas, Jr.

J. V. Espaldon

Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.

vicente c. pangelinan

M. J. Rector

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to commending and congratulating Technical Sergeant Edward R. A. Biacan on his selection as the Guam Air National Guard "Outstanding Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year 2009", and to thanking him for his service to our island and nation.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I

2 MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

- 3 WHEREAS, Edward R. A. Biacan enlisted into military service in the
- 4 summer of 1989 and was assigned as a Medical Specialist at Ft. Sam Houston,
- 5 Texas; and

1 WHEREAS, Technical Sergeant Biacan attended the Basic Military 2 Training School in August of 1989 at Ft. Sam Houston, Texas and completed three (3) years, while pursuing a Bachelor of Science degree in Psychology 3 from Saint Luis University, Baguio City, Philippines, in 1997; in 1998, he 4 5 enrolled at the University of Hawaii, Manoa, on a HIHI scholarship under the 6 Food and Beverage Cost Control Program; in 2001, he attended the United States Air Force (USAF) Supply Logistics Training at Lackland Air Force Base; 7 8 and he attended the USAF Airman Leadership School at Andersen Air Force 9 Base (AAFB), Guam, in 2003; and 10 WHEREAS, Technical Sergeant Biacan has since worked his way up the ranks, most recently in his current grade, effective 12 July 2008, from his prior 11 12. rank of Staff Sergeant, having been promoted on 2 July 2003; and

13 WHEREAS, Technical Sergeant Biacan's duty assignments include: 14 August 1989 to January 1990, student, Basic Military Training, Ft. Sam Houston, Texas; January 2003 to January 2004, Temporary Active Guard 15 16 Reserve (AGR), Guam Air National Guard, Andersen Air Force Base, Guam; February 2003 to March 2003, DFT Support, Camp Darby, Italy; January 2004 17 18 to August 2004, 36WRM Support, 36CES, AAFB, Guam; October 2004 to April 19 2005, 13 AF, Quality Assurance Evaluator, Wake Island; August 2004 to 20 September 2004, 254CES UCI support, Guam Air National Guard (GUANG), AAFB, Guam; April 2008 to present, Supply Technician, GUANG, AAFB, 21 22 Guam; and

WHEREAS, among other awards he has earned, Technical Sergeant Biacan was awarded the Air Force Commendation Medal with 1 Device, the Air Force Achievement Medal, the Air Force Outstanding Unit Award with 1 Device, the Air Reserve Forces Meritorious Medal with 1 Device, the National Defense Service Medal, the Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal, the USAF NCO PME Graduation Ribbon and the Air Force Training Ribbon; and WHEREAS, as testimony to his selfless dedication to the task at hand,

Technical Sergeant Biacan was nominated and earned the prestigious distinction and honor as the "Outstanding Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year 2009"; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trenta Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, commend and congratulate Technical Sergeant Edward R. A. Biacan on his nomination and selection as the Guam Air National Guard "Outstanding Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year, 2009", and does thank him for his service to our island and nation as a member of the United States Armed Forces; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attests to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Technical Sergeant Edward R. A. Biacan and family; to Major General Donald J. Goldhorn,

- 1 Adjutant General of the Guam National Guard; to the Honorable Madeleine
- 2 Z. Bordallo, Guam Delegate to the United States Congress; and to the
- 3 Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA' TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 4TH DAY OF FEBRUARY, 2009.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D

RORY J. RESP

Speaker

Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES
Legislative Secretary