I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2009 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 110 (COR)

Introduced by:

Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.

Ray Tenorio

I. V. Espaldon

T. R. Muña Barnes

F. B. Aguon, Jr.

T. C. Ada

F. F. Blas, Jr.

E. J.B. Calvo

B. J.F. Cruz

Judith P. Guthertz, DPA

v. c. pangelinan

M. J. Rector

R. J. Respicio

Telo Taitague

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to honoring the brave men and women of the Guam Police Department, the J. D. Leon Guerrero Commercial Port Authority Police, the A.B. Won Pat International Airport Authority Police, the Department of Agriculture Conservation Officers, the Customs and Quarantine Plant Protection and Quarantine Officers, and the Department of Parks and Recreation Park Patrol for protecting our island, most especially during "Guam Police Week", from May 10 through May 16, 2009.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

- WHEREAS, "National Police Week" will be celebrated nationwide from 3
- May 10 through May 16, 2009, as a tribute to the men and women of law 4
- 5 enforcement who maintain law and order in our communities; and
- 6 **WHEREAS**, the brave officers of the Guam Police Department, the J. D.
- 7 Leon Guerrero Commercial Port Authority Police, the A.B. Won Pat
- International Airport Authority Police, the Department of Agriculture 8
- Conservation Officers, the Customs and Quarantine Plant Protection and 9
- Quarantine Officers, and the Department of Parks and Recreation Park Patrol 10
- enforce the laws of our island every day, placing their lives at risk to defend 11
- Guam's people and property; and 12
- 13 WHEREAS, with the mounting number of crimes in our community,
- our police officers and law enforcement personnel serve long hours, 14
- sacrificing their time for the welfare of others; and 15
- 16 WHEREAS, these courageous men and women work with the civilian
- personnel, who perform essential functions in support of the uniformed 17
- 18 officers; and

2

- WHEREAS, many of Guam's police, law enforcement personnel, and 19
- peace officers, have lost their lives in the line of duty the ultimate act of 20
- selflessness that will be especially honored this week, and remembered all 21
- 22 year long; and

1 WHEREAS, the men and women of law enforcement, including those who are retired, deserve public recognition for their unparalleled service to 2 3 the people of Guam; now, therefore, be it 4 **RESOLVED**, that the Committee on Rules of I Mina'Trenta Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the 5 6 people of Guam, honor the brave men and women of the Guam Police 7 Department, the J. D. Leon Guerrero Commercial Port Authority Police, the 8 A.B. Won Pat International Airport Authority Police, the Department of 9 Agriculture Conservation Officers, the Customs and Quarantine Plant Protection and Quarantine Officers, and the Department of Parks and 10 11 Park Patrol for their dedication, courage, service, 12 professionalism in protecting our island, most especially during "Guam Police Week", from May 10 through May 16, 2009; and be it further 13 14 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and 15 16 that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Paul R. Suba, Chief of 17 Guam Police Department; to Ms. Doris C. Aguero, Chief, J. D. Leon Guerrero 18 Commercial Port Authority Police; to Mr. Patrick A. Fejeran, Chief, A.B. Won 19 Pat International Airport Authority Police; to Mr. Michael A. Reyes, Conservation Officer III, Department of Agriculture Conservation Officers; to 20

Dr. Russell Campbell, Chief Anthropologist, Customs and Quarantine Plant

Protection and Quarantine Officers; to Mr. Jose Quinata, Acting Deputy

21

22

- 1 Director, Department of Parks and Recreation Park Patrol; and to the
- 2 Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THIS 11^{TH} DAY OF MAY 2009.

TINÀ ROSE MUÑA BARNES

Acting Speaker

RORYJ. RESPICIO

Chairperson, Committee on Rules

RORY J. RESPICIO

Legislative Secretary