I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2009 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 180-30 (LS)

Introduced by:

v.c. pangelinan

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

T. R. Muña Barnes

T. C. Ada

F. B. Aguon, Jr.

F. F. Blas, Jr.

E. J.B. Calvo

B. J.F. Cruz

J. V. Espaldon

Judith P. Guthertz, DPA

A. B. Palacios, Sr.

M. J. Rector

R. J. Respicio

Telo Taitague

Ray Tenorio

Relative to commending and congratulating the members of the Forty-eighth (48th) *University of Guam Student Government Association* as they assume office for the 2009 to 2010 academic year; and to thanking the members and advisors of the Forty-seventh (47th) *University of Guam Student Government Association* for their service, commitment and diligence during the 2008 to 2009 Academic year.

BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the 2009 to 2010 academic year rings in a new era of leaders tasked with ensuring that students have a voice in the fulfillment of the mission of the University of Guam; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Forty-eighth (48th) University of Guam Student Government Association (UOG SGA) include: Benjamin Franklin Aguon Leon Guerrero II, President; Lisa Maureen Terlaje Meeks, Vice-President; Angelica Topasna Mantanona, Treasurer; Leilani Perez Sablan, Secretary; and Leonora Uson Balajadia, Regina Fergurgur Bato, Frank Lee San Nicolas Borja, Raymond David Gibson, Paciano Naputi Gumataotao, Heather Mendiola Leon Guerrero, Bianca Nicole Nguyen, Christian Jay Santiago, Charles San Jose Santos, and Johnny Masao Silbanuez, Senators; and

WHEREAS, as members of the Forty-eighth (48th) UOG SGA, they will continue the work of past student governments, including, ensuring opportunities for self-expression remain, and the formation of new and improved educational programs continues; and

WHEREAS, the Forty-eighth (48th) UOG SGA, as stated in its preamble, aims to set and practice the principles of democracy, provide services, coordinate activities for UOG students, and encourage cultural unity among members of the institution and the island community; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Forty-seventh (47th) UOG SGA include: Benjamin F.A. Leon Guerrero II, President; Remylynn Burlaza, Vice President; Jason G. Aradanas, Treasurer; Leilani P. Sablan, Secretary; Lisa Maureen T. Meeks, Interim Vice-President; Angelica T. Mantanona, Interim Treasurer; and Faedene Aldan, Regina F. Bato, Joaquin Diego, Raymond D. Gibson, Paciano N. Gumataotao, Aubry Gale Hocog, Heather Marie M. Leon Guerrero, Kyle Mesa, Albert Perez Jr., Christian Jay Santiago, Charles S.J. Santos, Phoebe Tadeo, and Darlene Mae Vigil-Santiago, Senators; and

WHEREAS, those advisors that provided guidance to the Forty-seventh (47th) UOG SGA include: Senior Advisor, Dr. Ansito Walter, Division of Public Administration; Advisor, Dr. Donald Platt, Division of Social/Behavioral Sciences; Advisor, Dr. Michael Griffin, Communications and Fine Arts; and Honorary Senior Advisor, Dr. Richard Matheny, Division of Social/Behavioral Sciences; and

WHEREAS, through their experience with the UOG SGA and the education attained at UOG, the SGA members of today are prepared to become tomorrow's leaders; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that *I Mina'Trenta Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, commend and congratulate all the members of the Forty-eighth (48th) University of Guam Student Government Association, and does wish them great success during the 2009 to 2010 academic year; and be it further

RESOLVED, that I Mina'Trenta Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on

behalf of the people of Guam, thank all the members and advisors of the

Forty-seventh (47th) University of Guam Student Government Association for

their service, commitment, and diligence during the 2008 to 2009 academic

year; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Legislative Secretary

attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter

transmitted to Mr. Benjamin Franklin Aguon Leon Guerrero II, President, 46th,

47th and 48th University of Guam Student Government Association; to Dr.

Robert Underwood, President, University of Guam; and to the Honorable

Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'TRENTA NA

LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THIS 26TH DAY OF AUGUST 2009.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D.

Speaker

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES

Legislative Secretary