I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2009 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 263-30 (COR)

Introduced by:

T. C. Ada
F. F. Blas, Jr.
E. J.B. Calvo
B. J.F. Cruz
J. V. Espaldon
Judith P. Guthertz, DPA
T. R. Muña Barnes
Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.
v. c. pangelinan
M. J. Rector
R. J. Respicio
Telo Taitague
Ray Tenorio

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

F. B. Aguon, Jr.

Relative to commending and congratulating Mr. Cong Lin Wu on the notable occasion of being recognized as one of the outstanding leaders of the new and modern overseas Chinese community, having been a distinguished recipient of the "2009 China Top 10 Financial And Intelligent Persons" award; and to further extending Un Dångkolo' Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse' to him for his exceptional service and contributions to the people of Guam.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, in 1975, Mr. Cong Lin Wu received a Bachelor of Arts degree in English, Foreign Language Department, from Fudan University; from 1976 to 1986, he worked with the Chinese-Polish Shipping Company; and from 1987 to 1991, he worked with the China Merchant's Company, Guam; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Wu is a person of exceptional ability and vision; he successfully started an international trade company in 1991, becoming the President of JJQ International Trading Company, Ltd., Guam, and is a former President of the Guam Chinese Association; and

WHEREAS, in addition to his accomplishments in the business realm, he has also dedicated his time to actively help build stronger relations between China, the country of his birth, and Guam, the place he calls home; and

WHEREAS, under Mr. Wu's leadership as President of the Guam Chinese Association, the organization received numerous Chinese leaders and dignitaries, such as Consul Generals, ambassadors, sailors from the Chinese Naval Fleet, representatives, and leaders from CAIFC who visited Guam; and WHEREAS, Mr. Wu worked with the Chinese Chamber of Commerce of Guam, the U.S. Coast Guard, the Chinese Consulate, and the Guam Chinese

Association, in providing assistance, support and spiritual comfort to those

- 1 affected by numerous disasters, to include the tragically sunken ship
- 2 "Haitong 7", and the Sichuan earthquake which struck in May 2008, and
- 3 which received One Hundred Twenty Thousand Dollars (\$120,000.00) from
- 4 the GCA; and
- 5 **WHEREAS**, as President of the Guam Chinese Association, Mr. Wu also
- 6 organized numerous variety shows and cultural performances to promote the
- 7 beauty of the Chinese culture, and to help build long-lasting friendships
- 8 between the Chinese people and the people of Guam; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Mr. Wu has kind-heartedly contributed to Guam's
- 10 education, sports associations, cultural groups, and the disabled and elderly;
- 11 now, therefore, be it
- 12 **RESOLVED**, that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trenta Na*
- 13 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- 14 people of Guam, commend and congratulate Mr. Cong Lin Wu on the notable
- occasion of being recognized as one of the outstanding leaders of the new and
- 16 modern overseas Chinese community, having been a distinguished recipient
- 17 of the "2009 China Top 10 Financial and Intelligent Persons" Award; and does
- 18 further extend *Un Dångkolo' Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse'* to him for his exceptional
- 19 service and contributions to the people of Guam; and be it further
- 20 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on
- 21 Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and
- 22 that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Cong Lin Wu; to the

- 1 Honorable Hu Jintao, President of China; to Mr. George Lai, President, Guam
- 2 Chinese Chamber of Commerce; to Mr. George Chiu, President, Guam
- 3 Chinese Association; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen
- 4 Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 4^{TH} DAY OF JANUARY 2010.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D.

Speaker

RORY L'RESPICIO

Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES

Legislative Secretary