## I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2010 (SECOND) Regular Session

## Resolution No. 346-30 (LS)

Introduced by:

F. B. Aguon, Jr.

T. C. Ada

V. Anthony Ada

F. F. Blas, Jr.

E. J.B. Calvo

B. J.F. Cruz

J. V. Espaldon

Judith P. Guthertz, DPA

T. R. Muña Barnes

Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.

v. c. pangelinan

R. J. Respicio

Telo Taitague

Ray Tenorio

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to commending the medical staff of Guam Memorial Hospital Authority, and all licensed physicians on Guam, for their dedication and endeavors in ensuring the people of Guam are afforded the best health care possible, in the observance of "Doctors' Day" on March 25, 2010, being celebrated this year on May 6, 2010.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

- WHEREAS, "Doctors' Day" was established in commemoration of that memorable day in 1842, when Dr. Crawford W. Long discovered and utilized ether to anesthetize patients, making him the first doctor to perform painless surgery; and
- WHEREAS, "Doctors' Day", observed annually nationwide on March
  8 25th and celebrated on May 6, 2010, is a day in which physicians are
  9 recognized and honored for the profound role that they perform in the
  10 well-being of their patients; and
- WHEREAS, seventy-five (75) years ago, "Doctors' Day" was established on Guam to recognize physicians who have devoted their lives to the health and well-being of our island community; and

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

- WHEREAS, Guam saw its first *Chamorro* civilian doctor, Dr. Ramon Manalisay Sablan, who through his efforts and with others, laid the path to promote the profession of medicine on our island; and
- WHEREAS, in an effort to improve patient care on Guam, doctors at Guam Memorial Hospital Authority (GMHA) assiduously seek to upgrade their skills and enhance their knowledge of the advances made in medical science and technology; and
- WHEREAS, in their concern with the delivery of health care services to the people of Guam, GMHA doctors partake in discussions and participate in the development of health policy issues by serving as

- 1 members on various organizations, including the Guam Medical Society,
- 2 Guam Licensing Boards, Community Task Forces, and Blue Ribbon
- 3 Committees; and
- 4 WHEREAS, representing twenty-five (25) specialties and
- 5 subspecialties, the one hundred fifty (150) doctors of GMHA spend
- 6 countless, uncompensated hours in multidisciplinary departmental and
- 7 committee meetings in order to assist the Hospital in attaining
- 8 accreditation; and
- 9 **WHEREAS**, the physicians of the GMHA also actively work to shape
- 10 public policy, perform volunteer work, and are committed to various forms
- 11 of community service; and
- WHEREAS, in an effort to enhance patient care services, the medical
- 13 staff of GMHA have been instrumental in the implementation of quality
- 14 assurance and improvement plans at the hospital, thus providing clinical
- 15 direction and leadership; and
- 16 WHEREAS, in deference to the myriad of contributions made by
- 17 medical staff Guam Memorial Hospital Authority and all licensed
- 18 physicians on Guam to the health, welfare and betterment of our island
- 19 community, recognition and commendation are in order; now, therefore,
- 20 be it
- 21 **RESOLVED,** that *I Mina'Trenta Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby,
- 22 on behalf of the people of Guam, recognize and commend the medical staff

- 1 of Guam Memorial Hospital Authority (GMHA) and all licensed
- 2 physicians on Guam, for their professionalism; and be it further
- 3 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify and the Legislative Secretary
- 4 attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter
- 5 transmitted to Peter John Camacho, GMHA Administrator; to Dr. Thomas
- 6 Shieh, President-Elect, Guam Medical Association; to Dr. Patrick Santos,
- 7 President, Guam Medical Association; to Dr. Sam Friedman, President,
- 8 Guam Medical Society; to Dr. Vincent Dueñas, President, GMHA Medical
- 9 Staff; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga' Låhen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 26TH DAY OF APRIL 2010.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D.

Speaker

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES

Legislative Secretary