I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2010 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 382-30 (COR)

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio
Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.
v. c. pangelinan
T. C. Ada
V. Anthony Ada
F. B. Aguon, Jr.
F. F. Blas, Jr.
B. J.F. Cruz
J. V. Espaldon
Judith P. Guthertz, DPA
T. R. Muña Barnes

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

E. J.B. Calvo

R. J. Respicio Telo Taitague

Relative to recognizing and congratulating the Filipino Community of Guam on the observance of the One Hundred Twelfth (112th) Anniversary of the Proclamation of Independence of the Republic of the Philippines

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINATRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

- WHEREAS, the Proclamation of Independence of the Republic of the Philippines is observed every year on the twelfth (12th) of June; and
- WHEREAS, the Republic of the Philippines gained its independence through the sacrifices of many Filipino heroes, such as: Dr. Jose Rizal, the National Hero of the Philippines, who wrote "Noli Me Tangere" (The Lost Eden), which popularized independence sentiment and whose execution by the Spanish fostered public outrage and rebellion; Andres Bonifacio, who led the Cry of Balintawak; General Emelio Aguinaldo, who commanded the Battle of Binakayan; and Apolinario Mabini, known as the "Sublime Paralytic", who

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

was the Brain of the Revolution; and

- WHEREAS, the fight for freedom was also supported by notable Filipinas, such as: Melchora Aquino, known as "Tandang Sora", who was exiled to the Marianas by the Spanish Government; Teresa Magbanua, a twenty-eight (28) year old teacher, who was one of the first women to lead men into battle; and other Filipina heroines from all walks of life who joined the Revolutionary Forces; and
- WHEREAS, the culmination of the struggle for independence came on 20 June 12, 1898, when General Emilio Aguinaldo declared the Philippines' 21 independence at his hometown of *Kawit, Cavite*, where thousands of people 22 from the provinces gathered to witness this historic event, including the

- 1 dramatic unfurling of the Philippine Flag while the Philippine National
- 2 Anthem was played in public for the first time, after which the "Act of the
- 3 Declaration of Independence" was solemnly read by its author, Ambrosio
- 4 Rianzares Bautista, who patterned it after the American Declaration of
- 5 Independence; and
- 6 WHEREAS, said Declaration was adopted by the Assembly of
- 7 Municipal Presidents, and was ratified by the Congress of the Republic of the
- 8 Philippines in Malolos, Bulacan, on September 1898, as an expression of the
- 9 sovereign will of the Filipino people; and
- 10 **WHEREAS**, the people of Guam, celebrate the achievements of Filipinos
- 11 everywhere, especially our Filipino brothers and sisters who have made
- 12 Guam their home; and
- 13 WHEREAS, the Philippine Independence speaks to the highest virtues
- 14 of the Filipino people: bravery; a commitment to freedom; and love for
- 15 democracy. These are the virtues our Filipino brothers and sisters in Guam
- 16 embody every day; and
- WHEREAS, Filipinos have continued a proud tradition of progress
- 18 since Philippine Independence, facing adversity with resolve, setting higher
- 19 standards of freedom and civil rights for all nations, and endeavoring every
- 20 day to build a better future and a better world; now, therefore, be it
- 21 **RESOLVED,** that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trenta Na*
- 22 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the

- 1 people of Guam, recognize and congratulate the Filipino Community of
- 2 Guam on the observance of the One Hundred Twelfth (112th) Anniversary of
- 3 the Proclamation of Independence of the Republic of the Philippines, and on
- 4 its festivities in observance thereof on June 11, 2010, at this year's Philippine
- 5 Independence Ball at the Sheraton Laguna Resort; and, be it further
- 6 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on
- 7 Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and
- 8 that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Alejandro B. Gagaring,
- 9 President, Filipino Community of Guam; to the Honorable Bayani S. Mercado,
- 10 Consul General of the Philippines to Guam; and to the Honorable Felix P.
- 11 Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THIS 10^{TH} DAY OF JUNE, 2010.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed. D.

Speaker

ROKÝ J. RESPICIO

Chairperson, Committee on Rules

RORYJ. RESPICIO Acting Legislative Secretary