## I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2010 (SECOND) Regular Session

## Resolution No. 403-30 (COR)

Introduced by:

B. J.F. Cruz

T. R. Muña Barnes

T. C. Ada

V. Anthony Ada

F. B. Aguon, Jr.

F. F. Blas, Jr.

E. J.B. Calvo

J. V. Espaldon

Judith P. Guthertz, DPA

Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.

v. c. pangelinan

R. J. Respicio

Telo Taitague

Ray Tenorio

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to commending and congratulating Dr. Thomas Shieh and family on the occasion of the Ninth (9th) Anniversary of the "Shieh Su Ying Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards" for outstanding academic and athletic achievement.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, June 6, 2010, marks the ninth (9th) annual presentation of the prestigious "Shieh Su Ying Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards", named in honor of Shieh Su Ying, grandmother of Dr. Thomas Shieh; and

WHEREAS, the Scholar-Athlete Program reflects the vision of local physician and philanthropist, Dr. Thomas Shieh, to nurture children into healthy adulthood, challenging them with high expectations, encouraging abstinence from drugs, alcohol, and tobacco, and rewarding academic and athletic success; and

WHEREAS, nominees are chosen from Guam's high schools who have exhibited exceptional academic and athletic ability, and who concurrently participate in a varsity sport while maintaining a grade point average of no less than 3.4; and

WHEREAS, every year since 2002, Dr. Shieh has presented the awardees and nominees with a monetary prize and gifts at a memorable ceremony commemorating each student's accomplishment; and

WHEREAS, recipients of the "Shieh Su Ying Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award" have excelled in their university studies, have represented Guam well while off-island, and have been role models worthy of emulation; and

1 WHEREAS, the Shieh Su Ying Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the

2 Year Award Program challenges Guam's youth to high achievement, allows

them to experience the rewards of success, and fosters within our community

4 the awareness that high achievement will be rewarded; and

WHEREAS, it is just such recognition and promotion that can broaden the self-perception of a community, inspiring independent, determined youth to excel in academics and sports, and to whom we confidently entrust the future of our island; and

WHEREAS, the fourteen (14) finalists for the "2010 Shieh Su Ying Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards" are: Paris N. Marler, St. John's School; Luke Atkinson, George Washington High School; Darren Apiag, Southern High School; Pollara B. Cobb, John F. Kennedy High School; Micah F. Paulino, Father Duenas Memorial School; Mary C. Gillan, Notre Dame High School; Miles Herron, Harvest Christian Academy; Shruti Nagarajan, John F. Kennedy High School; Matthew G. Perez, Harvest Christian Academy; Veronica A. Aguon Ige, George Washington High School; Tuan Delima Dinh Jr., Father Duenas Memorial School; Morgan T. Crisostomo, St. John's School; Corey J. Salas, Father Duenas Memorial School; and Elyse-Noelle T. Bais, Academy of Our Lady of Guam; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trenta Na*Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, commends

- 1 and congratulates Dr. Thomas Shieh and family on the Ninth (9th)
- 2 Anniversary of the "Shieh Su Ying Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the
- 3 Year Awards"; and be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, that I Liheslatura extends its sincere appreciation and
- 5 Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'ase to Dr. Shieh for his unceasing efforts and
- 6 investment in the precious resources of our island community, our children;
- 7 and be it further
- 8 **RESOLVED**, that *I Liheslatura* congratulates all of the young men and
- 9 women Scholar-Athletes, and wishes them good fortune in all of their
- 10 endeavors; and be it further
- 11 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on
- 12 Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and
- that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Dr. Thomas Shieh, steward
- of the "Shieh Su Ying Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards";
- and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THIS  $4^{TH}$  DAY OF JUNE, 2010.

BENJAMIN J. F. CRUZ

Acting Speaker

UDITH T. GUTHERTZ, DPA

Acting Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES

Legislative Secretary