## I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2009 (FIRST) Regular Session

**Committee on Rules** Resolution No. <u>47/4</u>5

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio E. J. B. Calvo J. T. Won Pa

Relative to observing the University of Guam's Charter Day Celebration and to commending the UOG' president, faculty, staff, students, the Board of Regents, and the 2009 Charter Day Committee for their work in continuing the traditional celebration of this auspicious and historic event.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, on March 10, 2009, the University of Guam ("the University"), a land grant institution, will observe its Charter Day, marking its founding; and

WHEREAS, the Territorial College of Guam, which was founded in 1952, offering limited classes at the old George Washington High School campus in Mongmong, developed from a two (2) year teacher training institution to a Land Grant University that offers a full range of undergraduate programs and graduate studies, relocated to its present one hundred (100) acre campus overlooking Pago Bay in Mangilao in 1961; and

WHEREAS, the Territorial College of Guam was renamed the "University of Guam" by the ninth (9th) Guam Legislature after being accredited for the maximum period by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges ("WASC") in 1968; and

WHEREAS, the University of Guam's first Charter Day was proclaimed on December 17, 1968, by the Honorable Governor Manuel F.L. Guerrero through Executive Order 74-09; and

WHEREAS, the year 2009 marks the 57th year of the founding of the University of Guam and the 41st Charter Day celebration; and

WHEREAS, while the University pursues its mission of providing resident instruction and research to the people of Guam, it also provides our neighbors throughout Micronesia the opportunity to achieve higher education; and

WHEREAS, the University of Guam, in its quest to maintain its tradition of excellence, continues to contribute to the island's social, cultural, political and economic advancement; and

WHEREAS, the theme for this year "UOG Green: Transforming Awareness into Action – *Ina, Diskubre, Setbe,*" reflects the University's goal of developing a sustainable campus environment that can serve as a model for our island, the islands of the Western Pacific, and the Asian Pacific Rim nations, through the University's vision and mission of research, education and service; and

WHEREAS, the 2009 Charter Day activities will showcase Guam's cultural, social, educational and recreational activities by inviting the People of Guam to visit the Mangilao campus during the week and share in these experiences; and

WHEREAS, Robert A. Underwood, Ph.D., President of the University, appointed the 2009 Charter Day Committee to organize this year's activities, whose membership includes: Pedro R. Martinez, Chairman; Joanie Barcinas, Peter Barcinas, Joe Blas, Dr. Anita Borja-Enriquez, Desiree Calvo, June Calvo, Dorothy Carlson, Rick R. Castro, Loling Cepeda, Nancy Cueto, Dr. Gary Denton, Angie Diaz, Swingly Dismas, Pam Eastlick, Joe Fernandez, Gerry Guerrero, Dr. Patrick Leddy, Ann Leon Guerrero, Benjamin Leon Guerrero, Christine Mabayag, Dr. Ron McNinch, Cathleen Moore-Linn, Leah Beth Naholowaa, Kin Ninete, David Okada, Peter Onedera, Bill Palomo, Julie Pangelinan, Angel Petros, Connie C. Quinata, Chrislynn Renguul, Jesse Rosario, Diana Sablan, Dr. Marilyn Salas, Dr. Maria Salomon, Jennifer Sanchez, Janet San Nicolas, Joey Santos, Dr. James Sellman, Jesse Tedpahago, Louise Toves, Dr. Julie Ulloa-Heath, LTC Kevin Wesolowski, Suzanne Wilkins, Monica Wintterle, and Velma Yamashita; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina Trenta Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam,

join in officially observing the University of Guam's Charter Day Celebration and does commend the UOG president, faculty, staff, students, Board of Regents and the 2009 Charter Day Committee for their work in continuing the traditional celebration of this auspicious and historic event; and be it further

**RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attests to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Benjamin Leon Guerrero II, President, UOG Student Government Association; to Dr. Robert A. Underwood, President of the University; to Mr. P. Sonny Ada, Chairman of the UOG Board of Regents; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga Lahen Guåhan*.

## DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES ON THE \_\_\_\_\_ DAY OF FEBRUARY, 2009.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, ED. D. Speaker

TINA ROSE MUNA BARNES Secretary of the Legislature

RORY J. RESPICIO Chairman, Committee On Rules