I MINA 'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2009 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 98(cor)

Introduced by:

TURAN GUÅHAN
Session

Ray Tenorio
Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr. Mp

Frank F. Blas, Jr. 18

Judith P. Guthertz, DPA

Edward J.B. Calvo

Telo Taitofue of

Relative to observing May 15, 2009 as "Peace Officers' Memorial Day" and honoring those who have fallen in the line of duty, paying the ultimate sacrifice while protecting the people of Guam.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'

2 TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

- 3 WHEREAS, on May 15, 1962, President John F. Kennedy proclaimed
- this day as 'Peace Officers Memorial Day' to honor and recognize members of 4
- 5 the 'Thin Blue Line'; and
- 6 WHEREAS, it is on this day that we join one another, on Guam and
- 7 across the nation, to pay tribute to the brave men and women who have
- 8 selflessly dedicated their lives to upholding the law, protecting our citizens
- from criminal injustice, and ensuring that our communities are a safe place to 9
- 10 live; and

WHEREAS, law enforcement officers risk their lives every day by answering the call of duty, they dedicate themselves to upholding the law in our society, and they relentlessly demonstrate a willingness to help others

within our community; and

WHEREAS, as citizens of this community we can help in the prevention of crime by cooperating with law enforcement officers and through volunteer programs such as neighborhood watch partnerships, civilian police reserves, homeland security from terrorism, and various public safety events; and

WHEREAS, our island leaders continue to support law enforcement entities and personnel by providing the necessary means essential to protecting fellow officers and the island community; and

WHEREAS, on "Peace Officers' Memorial Day" our island is encouraged to pay tribute to the men and women in law enforcement who over the years sacrificed their lives and have fallen in the line of duty while protecting our island residents; and

WHEREAS, may we honor and preserve the legacy set forth by these courageous men and women of law enforcement who gave their lives for justice and integrity, who stood as one against crime, and who gave the ultimate sacrifice to ensure the welfare of our island and our nation; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina' Trenta Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the

- 1 people of Guam, honor the men and women who gave their lives in the line of
- 2 duty by presenting the island's flags at half-staff; and be it further
- 3 **RESOLVED,** that *I Mina' Trenta Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on
- 4 behalf of the people of Guam recognize May 15, 2009, as "Peace Officers'
- 5 Memorial Day"; and be it further
- 6 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on
- 7 Rules certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption
- 8 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the families of
- 9 those who have sacrificed their lives in the line of duty: Police Sergeant
- 10 Frankie E. Smith; Police Officer I Francisco D. Taitague; Police Officer I Juan
- 11 M. Santos; Police Officer I Francisco A. Reyes; Police Officer III Tomas M.
- 12 Sablan; Police Reserve Officer Rudy C. Iglesias; Police Reserve Officer Helen
- 13 K. Lizama; Police Officer I Raymond S. Sanchez; Police Officer I Manuel A.
- 14 Aquino; Police Lieutenant Francisco G. Toves; Police Officer I Eddie A. Santos;
- 15 Conservation Officer Francisco M. Isezaki; Drug Enforcement Administration
- 16 Special Agent Larry D. Wallace; Department of Corrections Officer Douglas
- 17 W. Mashburn; United States Air Force Airman Laurie Lucas; United States Air
- 18 Force Sgt. Stacey E. Levay; to the Guam Police Department; to the Guam
- 19 International Airport Authority Airport Police; to the Port Authority Police;
- and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

OF I MINA' TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THEDA' OF 2009.	
Judith Won-Pat, Ed,D. Speaker	Tina Rose Muña-Barnes Senator and Secretary of the Legislature
Rory J. Respicio Chairman, Committee On Rules	