I MINA' TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2009 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No.

Introduced by:

RELATIVE TO RECOGNIZING THE "111th ANNIVERSARY **INDEPENDENCE** THE PROCLAMATION OF THE OF **REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES" AND CONGRATULATING** THE **FILIPINO** COMMUNITY **GUAM** ON ITS OF **OBSERVANCE OF THIS HISTORIC OCCASSION**

B. AGU

inallose Muria 7

BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA' TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN

GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the proclamation of Independence of the Republic of the Philippines is observed every year on the twelfth (12^{th}) of June; and

WHEREAS, the Republic of the Philippines gained its independence through the sacrifices of many Filipino Heroes such as, Dr. Jose Rizal, the National Hero of the Philippines , who wrote "*Noli Me Tangere*" (The Lost Eden) , which popularized independence sentiment, and whose execution by the Spanish fostered public outrage and rebellion; Andres Bonifacio, who led the Cry of Balintawak; General Emelio Aguinaldo, who commanded the Battle of *Binakayan*; and Apolinario Mabini, known as the "Sublime Paralytic" and the "Brain of the Revolution"; and

WHEREAS, the fight for freedom was also supported by noted Filipinas such as , Melchora Aquino , known as *"Tandang Sora"* , who exiled to the Marianas by the Spanish Government; Teresa Magbanua, a twenty-eight (28) year old teacher who was one of the first women to lean men into battle and other Filipina heroines from all walks of life who joined the Revolutionary Forces; and

WHEREAS, the culmination of the struggle for independence came on June 12, 1898, when General Emilio Aguinaldo declared the Philippines' Independence at his hometown of Kawit , Cavite , where thousands of people from the provinces gathered to witness this historic event , including the dramatic unfurling of the Philippine flag while the Philippine National Anthem was played in public for the first time , after which the "Act of the Declaration of Independence " was solemnly read by its author, Ambrosio Rianzares Bautista, who patterned it after the American Declaration of Independence ; and

**

WHEREAS, said Declaration was adopted by the Assembly of Municipal Presidents and was ratified by the Congress of the Republic of the Philippines in Malolos, Bulacan on September 1898, as an expression of the sovereign will of the Filipino people; and

WHEREAS, the Filipino Community of Guam celebrates Philippine Independence annually with various activities such as : *Santacruzan*, the Filipino religious-historical procession, Philippine food festival at Alize Restaurant of Guam Reef Hotel during the entire month of June, a flag-raising ceremony at the Philippine Consulate Office for Guam at ITC Bldg., and "*Vin d' Honneur*" at Hyatt Regency Hotel hosted by the Philippine Consul General on Guam on June 13, a Thanksgiving Mass at Dulce Nombre de Maria Cathedral Basilica and a wreath laying ceremony at the War in the Pacific National Historical Park in Asan on June 14 and the Filipino Community of Guam's Philippine Independence Ball at the Sheraton Laguna Guam Hotel on June 26 to celebrate the numerous contributions that Filipinos have made to the island; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina' Trenta Na Liheslaturan Guahan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guahan* and the people of Guam, recognize the "111th Anniversary of the Proclamation of Independence of the Republic of the Philippines", and further congratulates the Filipino Community of Guam; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Alex Gagaring, President, Filipino Community of Guam; to the Honorable Olivia Palala, Consul General of the Philippines to Guam; to the Honorable Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, President of the Philippines; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I *Maga'lahen Guahan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THIS DAY OF MAY _____, 2009.

JUDITH WON T. PAT Speaker **RORY J. RESPICIO Chairperson, Committee on Rules**

TINA MUNA-BARNES Legislative Secretary