I MINA 'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2010 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 344-30(2s)

Introduced by:

Ray Tenofie Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr. My Judith P. Guthertz, DPA Edward J.B. Calvo & M

2018

Relative to observing May 14, 2010 as "Peace Officers' Memorial Day" and honoring those who have fallen in the line of duty, paying the ultimate sacrifice while protecting the people of Guam.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA' TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

3 WHEREAS, on May 15, 1962, President John F. Kennedy proclaimed 4 this day as 'Peace Officers Memorial Day' to honor and recognize members of 5 the 'Thin Blue Line'; and

6 WHEREAS, it is on this day that we join one another, on Guam and 7 across the nation, to pay tribute to the brave men and women who have 8 selflessly dedicated their lives to upholding the law, protecting our citizens 9 from criminal injustice, and ensuring that our communities are a safe place to 10 live; and WHEREAS, law enforcement officers risk their lives every day by
 answering the call of duty, they dedicate themselves to upholding the law in
 our society, and they relentlessly demonstrate a willingness to help others
 within our community; and

5 WHEREAS, as citizens of this community we can help in the prevention 6 of crime by cooperating with law enforcement officers and through volunteer 7 programs such as neighborhood watch partnerships, civilian police reserves, 8 homeland security from terrorism, and various public safety events; and

9 WHEREAS, our island leaders continue to support law enforcement 10 entities and personnel by providing the necessary means essential to 11 protecting fellow officers and the island community; and

12 WHEREAS, on "Peace Officers' Memorial Day" our island is 13 encouraged to pay tribute to the men and women in law enforcement who 14 over the years sacrificed their lives and have fallen in the line of duty while 15 protecting our island residents; and

16 WHEREAS, may we honor and preserve the legacy set forth by these 17 courageous men and women of law enforcement who gave their lives for 18 justice and integrity, who stood as one against crime, and who gave the 19 ultimate sacrifice to ensure the welfare of our island and our nation; now, 20 therefore, be it

21 **RESOLVED**, that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina' Trenta Na* 22 *Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the

2

people of Guam, honor the men and women who gave their lives in the line of
 duty by presenting the island's flags at half-staff; and be it further

RESOLVED, that *I Mina' Trenta Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on
behalf of the people of Guam recognize May 14, 2010, as "Peace Officers'
Memorial Day"; and be it further

6 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on 7 Rules certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption 8 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the families of 9 those who have sacrificed their lives in the line of duty: Police Sergeant 10 Frankie E. Smith; Police Officer I Francisco D. Taitague; Police Officer I Juan 11 M. Santos; Police Officer I Francisco A. Reyes; Police Officer III Tomas M. Sablan; Police Reserve Officer Rudy C. Iglesias; Police Reserve Officer Helen 12 K. Lizama; Police Officer I Raymond S. Sanchez; Police Officer I Manuel A. 13 14 Aquino; Police Lieutenant Francisco G. Toves; Police Officer I Eddie A. Santos; Conservation Officer Francisco M. Isezaki; Drug Enforcement Administration 15 Special Agent Larry D. Wallace; Department of Corrections Officer Douglas 16 W. Mashburn; United States Air Force Airman Laurie Lucas; United States Air 17 18 Force Sgt. Stacey E. Levay; to the Guam Police Department; to the Guam International Airport Authority Airport Police; to the Port Authority Police; 19 and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan. 20

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA' TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE _____DAY OF _____ 2010.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed,D. Speaker **RORY RESPICIO** Chairman, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUNA BARNES Legislative Secretary