I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2010 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. $\frac{433-30}{(COR)}$

Introduced by:

J.T. Won Pat, Ed.D. T. R. Muna Barnes J.P. Guthertz, D.P.A. W

16: -6 WN 05 30 WN 2: 31

Relative to commending and congratulating the members of the "49th University of Guam Student Government Association" as they assume office for the 2010 to 2011 Academic year; and to thanking the members and advisors of the "48th University of Guam Student Government Association" for their service, commitment and diligence during the 2009 to 2010 Academic year.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN 2 GUÅHAN:

3 WHEREAS, the 2010 to 2011 Academic year rings in a new era of 4 stewards tasked with ensuring that students have a voice in the fulfillment of 5 the mission of the University of Guam; and

6 WHEREAS, the members of the 49th University of Guam Student 7 Government Association (UOG SGA) include Benjamin Franklin Aguon Leon 8 Guerrero II, President; Lisa Maureen Terlaje Meeks, Vice-President; Angelica 9 Topasna Mantanona, Treasurer; Heather Marie Mendiola Leon Guerrero, 10 Secretary; Jason Gombio Aradanas, Regina Fergurgur Bato, Christopher C. 11 Bawar, Frank Lee Borja, Paciano Naputi Gumataotao, Jesse John Quenga, Queanna Savanna Camacho Sablan, Brian DeLeon Guerrero Salas, Amanda L.
 Shelton, and Johnny Masao Silbanuez, Senators; and

WHEREAS, as members of the 48th UOG SGA, they will carry forward the work of past student governments while ensuring that opportunities for self-expression remain and the formation of new and improved educational programs continues; and

7 WHEREAS, the 49th UOG SGA, as stated in its preamble, is set to 8 practice the principles of democracy, provide services, coordinate activities for 9 UOG students, and encourage cultural unity among members of the 10 institution and the island-community; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 48th UOG SGA include: Benjamin F.A.
Leon Guerrero II, President; Lisa Maureen Terlaje Meeks, Vice President;
Angelica Topasna Mantanona, Treasurer; Leilani P. Sablan, Secretary; and
Jason Gombio Aradanas, Leonora Balajadia, Frank Lee Borja, Patrick Ignacio
Borja, Regina F. Bato, Raymond D. Gibson, Paciano N. Gumataotao, Heather
Marie M. Leon Guerrero, Bianca Nicole Nguyen, Brian DLG Salas, Christian
Jay Santiago, Charles S.J. Santos, and Johnny Masao Silbanuez, Senators; and

WHEREAS, those advisors that provided guidance to the 48th UOG
SGA include: Senior Advisor Dr. Ansito Walter, Division of Public
Administration; and Advisor Dr. Donald Platt, Division of Social/Behavioral
Sciences, Advisor Dr. Michael Griffin, Communications & Fine Arts; and

WHEREAS, through their experience with the UOG SGA and the education attained at UOG, the SGA members of today are destined to become tomorrow's leaders; now, therefore, be it 1 **RESOLVED,** that *I Mina'Trenta Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on 2 behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, commend and 3 congratulate all the members of the 49th University of Guam Student 4 Government Association, and wish them great success during the 2010 to 2011 5 Academic year; and be it further

6 **RESOLVED,** that *I Mina'Trenta Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on 7 behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam thank all the members and 8 advisors of the 48th University of Guam Student Government Association for their 9 service, commitment, and diligence during the 2009 to 2010 Academic year; and be it 10 further

11 **RESOLVED,** that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature 12 attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to 13 Mr. Benjamin Franklin Aguon Leon Guerrero II, President, 49th University of 14 Guam, Student Government Association; to Dr. Robert Underwood, 15 President, University of Guam; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I* 16 *Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA' TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE ____ DAY OF JANUARY 2010.

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D. Speaker Tina Rose Muna Barnes Senator and Secretary of the Legislature