## I MINA 'TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2010 (SECOND) Regular Session

2010 SEP 22 PM 3: 18

Resolution No. <u>449-30(cor</u>)

Introduced by:

Edward J.B. Calvo

Relative to recognizing and congratulating the outgoing officers and board of directors for the University of the Philippines Alumni Guam (UPAG).

- BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'
- 2 TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- 3 WHEREAS, nonprofit organizations engaged in community service are
- 4 an important part of a successful society; and
- 5 **WHEREAS**, in an island as small as Guam, the good work done by civic
- 6 groups are especially noticed and recognized; and
- WHEREAS, the University of the Philippines Alumni Guam (UPAG), in
- 8 addition to the community service work they do on Guam, also frequently
- 9 aids the Republic of the Philippines in disaster relief efforts
- 10 WHEREAS, the UPAG's outgoing group of officers and board of
- 11 directors lead its efforts to make the island a better place; and

- 1 WHEREAS, its outgoing officers include Dr. Meilou Tenorio- Milligan,
- 2 President; Tessie Bagtas Marcos, Vice President; Alejandrina Cacho,
- 3 Recording Secretary; Haydee Acebedo, Corresponding Secretary; Melen Ruiz,
- 4 Treasurer; Dr. Lourdes Duguies, Assistant Treasurer; Dr. Melba Cantoria,
- 5 Auditor; and Eddy Sy, Press Relation Officer; and
- 6 WHEREAS, its outgoing board of directors includes Imelda Gines, Tita
- 7 Alegria, Dr. Dometila Aquilizan, Alfredo Cantoria, Bernardo Ortega, Dr.
- 8 Lilnabeth Somera, and Dale Dennis David; now therefore it be
- 9 **RESOLVED**, that the Committee on Rules of I Mina' Trenta Na
- 10 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- 11 people of Guam, recognize and congratulate the outgoing elected officers and
- 12 board of directors for the University of the Philippines Alumni Guam
- 13 (UPAG); and be it further
- RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on
- 15 Rules certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption
- 16 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Dr. Meilou
- 17 Tenorio- Milligan, President; Tessie Bagtas Marcos, Vice President;
- 18 Alejandrina Cacho, Recording Secretary; Haydee Acebedo, Corresponding
- 19 Secretary; Melen Ruiz, Treasurer; Dr. Lourdes Duguies, Assistant Treasurer;
- 20 Dr. Melba Cantoria, Auditor; Eddy Sy, Press Relation Officer; Imelda Gines,
- 21 Tita Alegria, Dr. Dometila Aquilizan, Alfredo Cantoria, Bernardo Ortega, Dr.

Lilnabeth Somera, Dale Dennis David, and to the Honorable Felix P.

Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA' TRENTA NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE \_\_\_\_\_DAY OF \_\_\_\_\_\_ 2010.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed,D.

Speaker

RORY J. RESPICIO
Chairman, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES

Legislative Secretary